The end of the Thirty-Somethings

To be honest, all our days are numbered but this one has a little more significance to me. Today I turn 39. I have less than a year left of being a Thirty-Something. It makes me feel sad but at the same time I am still hopeful for the future.

My first forty years have been quite a ride. I’ve done quite a few things during those years. Some things I am exceptionally proud of while others I am willing to admit were not my finest hours. I like to think I’ve learned from my mistakes and will walk into what might be the second half of my life a little wiser and attempt to be truer to myself and others.

There’s no guarantee how long that second half will last either. I could be gone tomorrow or around for the next few decades. I really hope it’s the second, but lately I’ve been writing and working as if it might be the first. I’m not the healthiest person in the world, and I know the person responsible for that is me. I’ll do my best to improve that, hoping it will make a difference and buy me a little more time.

I can’t make any promises but I will give it my best effort. We’ll see in the future if that’s enough.

PJ

Leave a Reply

