Beliefs can be dangerous

response-01

I thank you for your comment, despite the fact that I strongly disagree with it.

When people are knocking on my door to ‘spread the word of Jesus’ and pushing politicians to legislate their faith… we have a right, and some might say duty, to call out these religions and demand they pony up some evidence to back up their claims before they try to ram it down anyone’s throat.The religious need to be called out because they are not calling their faith a belief, they’re trying to say it’s historical fact, which there is no evidence to support.

Just to give you a idea of how fucked up things are. The penalty for apostasy (leaving Islam) is death. There are Christians who want their kids to be exempt from the anti-bullying laws so that they can bully people who don’t agree with their faith. People in Iraq (such as Atheists and even Christians) who refuse to convert to Islam in Iraq are being shot and buried in mass graves.

What religion is doing to this world is something that should be protested. I’m not going to sit on my hands and neither should you. We should raise our voices to these injustices, which are clearly a violation of human rights. I do more than just rant online. I sign and circulate petitions, attend rallies and participate in debates to voice my opposition to the the terrible things that are caused by all religions.

One reason why I’ll never stop debating or calling out religion on their bullshit is because I made a promise to someone I greatly respect. That promise was to never let the thoughts of others shame me into backing off. Never be afraid of the anger your thoughts will produce. I was also told to seek out the fight and never be a spectator to injustice. I like to think I’ve done just that and will continue to do so until my final breath.

Thank you for your comment and for contributing to the conversation.

PJ

5 thoughts on “Beliefs can be dangerous

  1. She’s outright incorrect. Lack of proof utterly discredits a belief. A belief is an acceptance of a truth without proof. You can accept the belief, you can build a whole religion around it, but that doesn’t make it any more right than any other belief. I believe in Thor. Wait no, that’s too easy. I believe she’s wrong, and any attempt on her part to discredit my statement doesn’t count because it’s my belief, so she ought to accept it’s relevance to her statement.

    I especially liked her sit on the fence attitude. I’m not a religious person. Uhuh.

    Your retort was well said. Why should you back down? If she came here on your site with evidence to support her claim that belief is relevant, fair enough, but she hasn’t so (to be childishly smug) there.

  2. I love Jesus and I recently learned that the third commandment about using the Lord’s name in vain means to commit evil in God’s name. Many people embraced atheism after 9-11 because the terrorists committed evil in the name of religion. This commandment also happens to mention that someone who uses God’s name in vain will not be forgiven. I believe this is because it does irreparable harm to God’s reputation.

    • While I’m sure some did lose their faith after witnessing the atrocities of 9/11, many like myself were atheists prior to that event because there is no evidence to support their wild claims… none what so ever. Until the, I have no reason to give any credibility to a single religion out there. I know (not think) that there’s not evidence because if such evidence existed, churches wouldn’t need to ask their people to have faith.

      • That’s cool if you were atheist before 9-11. But wouldn’t you agree that your point of view (POV) has really gained traction since that event because it caused a general falling away from faith in our government? I would agree with you that the definition of faith is blind trust in things you can’t see. Many times in the past 200 years an encounter with a god (or demon, depending on your POV) convinces the witness to start a new religion. I don’t doubt that their conviction was sincere–I don’t think they were lying that they had a supernatural encounter. But the fallout has been truly horrendous, and I weep when I consider the depth and and wide variety of deception out there today.

      • No, the point had plenty of traction before the event… and even more because of strong people stepping forwards (Dawkins, Harris, etc) and not a single event. There is no evidence that any of these alleged encounters ever actually happened, and without any such evidence… it’s no different than ancient mythology and fairy tales. Religion is a con, used to dupe the masses out of their free will and money. It’s a fraud, nothing more.

Leave a Reply

