Why bother? This is your answer…

Billboard-join

In case you can’t read it, here is an interesting response to the billboard entry:

“WHAT THE FUCK! I’m so angry & completely considering my religion after reading these & looking up in the bible if it was true, and it is! This is terrible, this is not right, this isn’t how humans should be brainwashed to act, I can’t believe this, I’m so angry.”

I’ve been asked often: why bother? Honestly… one good answer is to inform other atheists, often those in hiding (or in the closet) that they are not alone and others out there think the same way they do.

I guess another goal would be to reach out and have a meaningful discussion with those who are doubting their upbringing and offer them a new perspective and then let them make their own decisions.

I doubt women want to follow a religion that thinks they are not as valuable as men and at one time authorized them to be sold off like cattle. The same goes for any African Americans who follow a religion that condones slavery. They didn’t choose to follow it, they were just told to when they were very young. That is not an informed decision, it’s systematic brainwashing.

The above note gives me hope. If she chooses to go back to her faith or to do something else… it doesn’t matter. As long as she comes to that decision after thinking about it on her own, then I’m cool with it. I’m not for the abolishing religion but rather the end of brainwashing young kids. Let people learn how to think first and then let them make their own call.

My goal isn’t to turn people but it’s fun to see it when it happens. Now I know how Morpheus feels…

PJ

Leave a Reply

