A please “talk about” post…

I honestly believe the best way to get to know someone is to see how they respond to random questions.

So here goes nothing:

1. Talk about the first time you watched your favorite movie.

My favorite movie is Pulp Fiction. One of the best scripts ever written in my personal opinion. I love this script so much, I could sit down on a slow day with a warm cup of team and just read it like a book. It’s that awesome…

2. Talk about your first kiss.

Her name was Shelley. We were both very young. It was a very innocent kiss as there was no tongue. She was the first person I was ever smitten with, ever. My first crush and possibly my first love. There are days when I still think about her and wonder if she still thinks about me.

3. Talk about the person you’ve had the most intense romantic feelings for.

That person hurt me very much. I don’t know if I’ll ever recover or be able to have another healthy relationship for the rest of my live because of her.

4. Talk about the thing you regret most so far.

Not living up to my potential yet.

5. Talk about the best birthday you’ve had.

Birthdays have not been very spectacular to the point where I have a favorite. I don’t make a big deal out of it either so no one every feels pressured to make an effort. Maybe that’s my own fault…

6. Talk about the worst birthday you’ve had.

On the flip side, not doing anything means you never really have bad ones either of you don’t go out of your way. The last few years that has been a little lonely but that’s of my own doing I guess.

7. Talk about your biggest insecurity.

That I will die before living up to my full potential,

8. Talk about the thing you are most proud of.

I am proud of the work I’ve created thus far. All the poems, the short stories and the books I’ve made so far. I hope to make many more. I am also a proud father to two very amazing little boys. I wish I could have more children but if this is it, I’m very proud of that work as well.

9. Talk about little things on your body that you like the most.

I like my fingers… great for typing and creating more art.

10. Talk about the biggest fight you’ve ever had.

That fight is still ongoing and never ends…

11. Talk about the best dream you’ve ever had.

I had this really interesting dream that played like an action movie in my head. It was exciting, dramatic and I woke up in a cold sweat… I failed to write it down cause I didn’t think it was worth exploring. that was until I saw something very similar become a very popular action movie. Won’t make that mistake again.

12. Talk about the worst dream you’ve ever had.

When I first became a father, I used to have a recurring dream that I would accidentally leave my son on the bus. I would run after the bus screaming for it to stop as it drove away and that was usually when I would wake up. After ten years I don’t have that dream anymore but it was a bad one that recurred for the first few years I was a Dad.

13. Talk about the first time you had sex/how you imagine your first time.

Believe it or not, I was a late bloomer. I held out and I honestly believe because I didn’t jump into it too quickly, my first experience was a good one. I cared very much for the person it was with and it was a very loving experience. So no regrets looking back.

14. Talk about a vacation.

When I was working in South Korea, I took a trip to a small island a twelve hour ferry ride south of the mainland called Jeju Do Island. It was a beautiful, tropical place, and I had a blast. I met up with some other tourists and spend the entire weekend with them and my friends, pretty much partying the entire weekend we were out there. I had a great time. 

15. Talk about the time you were most content in life.

It was the week after my son was born. Holding that small little guy, no bigger than a football, in my arms and watching him fall asleep was when I was most content in my life. Now he’s eleven, playing video games and asking to watch X-men movies this weekend.

16. Talk about the best party you’ve ever been to.

Because I was a member of my University’s student council, I was invited to an ‘Win To Get In’ Concert that that was being hosted by the Student Union. Molson had used this concert as an incentive to secure the university’s sponsorship and had promised to get an A-list performer for it. As a representative of the union, I was guaranteed a ticket for the show. It was a small affair, less than 250 students could win to get in.

The bar was free.

The band was Green Day.

The rest of the night is a little blurry.

17. Talk about someone you want to be friends with.

I want to be friends with my little brother. When I left to attend university, we were not on good terms and that rift only grew bigger. He’s a good guy and we have a lot more in common that we’re willing to admit. I’ve made big strides to mend fences but I understand it’s going to take time. I have to be patient and I’m willing to be for my brother, who I love a great deal.

18. Talk about something that happened in elementary school.

The early years was a very dark time for me. I was bullied but I didn’t take it. I took the fight back to them and gave as good as I took. I was suspended, a lot. I was just not the kind of kid to take flack from anyone. If anyone stood in my way, I removed them and by force if necessary. Someone had the audacity to call my kid a problem child. Bitch please, you have no idea what that means. Just ask my principals. By the time I was in grade six, my record looked like a Tom Clancy novel. I was actually sent to a behavior class for doing nothing more than defend myself. It turned out all right anyway. The best teacher I ever met was in that class and the rest is history.

19. Talk about something that happened in middle school.

When I was in grade seven, I was struggling with french. My mom didn’t like that so she hired the university student who lived next door to tutor me. He was in the education department, training to become a french teacher himself so this was the perfect person to tutor me. We were going over very basic stuff, which was good practice for his teaching skills as well. During that practice we were doing the difference between boy or girl, and I pointed at a poster and asked him in french if that was a girl. No, no, he corrected. That is a belle fille… which I know means very beautiful girl.

Less than a week later, my french teacher was doing random questions of each student for points. She had the class split into teams of two and would point at something like a pen or a chair and ask us what it was and we had to reply in french. When I was called on, she pointed at one of the cutest girls in my class and asked me to tell her what she was. Naturally, I used my tutor’s training and gave her an honest response. “Cest une Belle Fille.” was what I called back out to her. It meant this is a very beautiful girl, and she was.

Upon hearing that, my french teacher’s jaw gaped open and she turned a shade of red. All the kids asked what I had said and she not only refused to answer but also ended the game right then and there. That’s how my french teacher found out that I had a tutor.

20. Talk about something that happened in high school.

I broke my knee when I was wrestling for the school team. I was out of commission for at least a year. So since I was going to be on my ass for quite sometime, I organized and put together my school’s first chess team. Later that year we won first place at the Niagara Regional Championship. My school has been a strong contender for all competitions ever since and it all started because someone from the wrestling team fractured his knee.

21. Talk about a time you had to turn someone down.

When I first separated from my wife, I also happened to become unemployed less than 24 hours around that time. So it was pretty much a double whammy. Around that time, I was offered a teaching position overseas. It would have paid very well and I would have been set. I refused. I had two boys, ages 7 and 5 that would be greatly effected if their Dad was away for long periods of time. I remember what it was like when my Dad went on long business trips. I didn’t want to do that to my boys. I’d rather be around and poor than far, far away and just footing the bill. I have never regretted that decision. I would have missed so much that I’m grateful I had the guts to say no.

22. Talk about your worst fear.

One of my worst fears is snakes. Put one anywhere near me without any notice and I will scream like a little girl, very much like Flanders did in that Rear Window episode of the Simpsons. Yet one day when I went to a petting zoo with my oldest son who was six at the time, one of the people asked me if I wanted to hold a small boa. I knew that if I showed any fear, there was a good chance the my son would follow my lead and exhibit the same fear. So I took the boa which was the most terrifying moment I’ve ever had in a very long time. My heart was racing and every part of me just wanted to throw it away, but I didn’t. Moments after I had my inner screaming in terror moment, my son took the snake next and enjoyed holding onto it and it was a pleasant experience for him. By standing up to my own fear, I didn’t pass it on.

23. Talk about a time someone turned you down.

I’ve been rejected by quite a few amazing ladies. But while their rejection was nearly as painful as a breakup… what would have hurt more in the future would have been the torture I would have placed on myself if I never tried. The one reason why I don’t fear rejection is because if you’re turned down, at least you made the effort to make something happen. No matter what happens after that, at least the reason why nothing ever happened will not be because you didn’t have the courage, the nerve, the outright balls to step up and ask.

24. Talk about something someone told you that meant a lot.

As an outspoken atheist, I got some very sound advice from a great mind over a rather expensive glass of something strong (that I bought). This was the day I was the recipient of the best advice I would ever receive when it came to expressing myself and standing up for my rights.

I was told never to back down from was the truth, no matter what people would call you. If they called you a dick, pig headed or even an uncaring, heartless bastard… those words were mere weapons used by others who wish to silence you, to silence dissent. If they resorted to such terrible slurs, it was because they were beaten and had no other recourse to retort. You were victorious.

One person’s stubborn asshole was another person’s courageous hero. It’s was all semantics so I was advised, actually ordered, not to let their labels dictate the conversation or sidetrack it. Never be afraid to stand up for what you hold dear, especially if the truth is on your side.

Wise words from a great man that I will never forget.

25. Talk about an ex-best friend.

I have too many ex-friends… I’d like to think if someone is my best friend they would get over the things that create these ex-friends and accept me for who I am rather than try to change me.

26. Talk about things you do when you’re sick.

I drink a lot of tea, lie on the couch and either sleep or catch up on my shows. When the boys are here for their weekends, I suck it up and do my work.

27. Talk about your favorite part of someone else’s body.

There is someone’s neck that I just absolutely adore. I’ve never had the chance to kiss that neck. I likely never will…

28. Talk about your fetishes.

I’d rather not. Sorry…

29. Talk about what turns you on.

Intelligence turns me on and we don’t have to agree on everything as that would be super boring. I would prefer to be with someone who challenges me and makes me think outside the box every once in a while. While there is no guarantee that I’ll ever change my mind, I will always consider options and then make sound decisions on them.

30. Talk about what turns you off.

Ignorance. The exact opposite of the previous answer. Someone who is ignorant and unwilling to bend for anything, despite the overwhelming evidence to the contrary. Those people annoy me and are a true buzz kill.

31. Talk about what you think death is like.

I can’t because I’ve never experienced it. As much as I’d love to believe the fairy tales about the afterlife going around, as much fun as it would be to find out it’s all true… I’m very doubtful it is. This is the one life we have so make the best of it now while you still can.

32. Talk about a place you remember from your childhood.

I never stayed in one place too long. For some reason we moved to a new house every four or five years. As a result I’ve never really planted myself either. I’ve always been moving from one place to another every half a decade too… whether it be just down the street or in another country on the other side of the planet.

33. Talk about what you do when you are sad.

I write about it. I bleed into the page… I let it all out, even the anger.

34. Talk about the worst physical pain you’ve endured.

I had a wisdom tooth that got infected and it caused blistering migraines that lasted for months on end. I had to get it removed anyway but it was firmly in there. I swear this dentist had to put his food on one of the armrests to pull that fucker out. But when that took got yanked out, it was like flipping the off switch. Never felt so amazing in my life right after the most pain I ever felt getting that tooth yanked.

35. Talk about things you wish you could stop doing.

My temper is an issue. I wish I wouldn’t take things so personally. It’s a daily struggle but most days are good days. It’s a shame everyone else only remembers the bad days.

36. Talk about your guilty pleasures.

Most of my guilty pleasures come from television. I love watching a ton of them and do it often. I pay hand over fist to get what I love to watch and I hand over that cash happily.

37. Talk about someone you thought you were in love with.

There is no messing about it. When I’m in love with someone I really am. It is possible to love more than one person at a time. People who have more than one kid understand that. There are a lot of people out there that I am head over heels for but they’ll never know about it for various reasons. I’m not trying to contradict my previous answer. Whenever I’ve had a chance to step up to the plate and take cut, I don’t hesitate to do it. I never will because I’d rather strike out than wonder what if.

38. Talk about songs that remind you of certain people.

Chely Wright’s hit song Shut Up and Drive is one that reminds me of my ex-wife. The lyrics hit hard with me… as I’ll only miss the person that I wanted her to be.

Highway 20 Ride by the Zack Brown Band really sticks with me as well, as it reminds me of the trip I make every weekend to be with my kids. A part of you might hate me but son please don’t mistake me for a man who didn’t care at all. Some powerful shit right there…

39. Talk about things you wish you’d known earlier.

This isn’t a question that I think about that often. I usually appreciate any time I get with someone I like or respect. The one thing I wish for is more time. Knowing someone longer rather than earlier. I had two grandparents that passed away far too early in life. One left when I was only five while I never met the other as he died before I was even born. If I could wish for anything, it would be to meet them as the man I am now.

40. Talk about the end of something in your life.

My first marriage is all but over. The only thing left is the paperwork. It lasted 11 years and while I like to think I walk away from it a better and more learned person, picking up the pieces of my life has been quite the chore. I like to think I’m doing better but I haven’t been able to get back up on the saddle. Moving on and being with someone new has been difficult. I honestly don’t know if I will be able to be that way with someone ever again. I hope so, but forgive me if I don’t hold my breathe.

So that’s it with the please talk about questions. If you have questions that you’d like to see answered, click on the button at the top and fire away!

Cheers,

PJ

Leave a Reply

